Sound Design and Finding Music

Screen Shot 2015-06-12 at 15.26.47 After editing my film together I thought it would sound more interesting and complete with a song played over it (in the background). Throughout this project I’d searched online for Royalty Free Music and found a website called Incompetech, I searched for the type of song I was searching for by clicking search tags such as ‘bouncy’ and ‘bright’, due to the uplifting style I want to create in my piece. For obvious reasons, I couldn’t find the perfect song I had imagined when editing the footage together, however I wrote down the names of a few tracks and their duration, I then converted a few of these by opening up the tracks in Youtube and then converting them from MP4 to MP3 files. The style of music I was looking for had to be soft and subtle with not to much percussion as I didn’t want to draw the attention away from the speech of my interviewees to the music. Screen Shot 2015-06-12 at 15.27.01 Screen Shot 2015-06-12 at 15.27.25

I showed my most recent edit (including music) to one of my classmates, he said the music worked well the way it faded out at some parts and it fitted well with the filming style, however it would be good to interchange between two different tracks to make it more interesting and not so repetitive. I will do this as I have found two songs that are quite similar to each other without a distinctive music change, one is called Carefree and the other is called (beetle drive) both found on Incompetch,

Leave a Reply

