Production: Day 2

Sunday 10th, 

I wanted to make the most of the zoom kit whilst I had it booked out for the weekend. Straight after work at 4pm I headed over to Max’s granddad’s house to conduct an interview, although when we arrived he was unavailable which wasn’t a problem as I hadn’t arranged it with him anyway. I had emailed the parents of my child interviewees but three of them were away on holiday. I managed to get in touch with another parent (Max’s auntie), and she was very enthusiastic for us to come around now and film. I spoke to Daniel on the phone, he told me he was in his pyjamas but said he needed to go quickly to get changed! From his excitement I could tell this was going to be an interesting interview!

Like Alice Daniel is another big character, and did not hesitate to open up in front of the camera, which supports my theory of the elderly and the very young not having a conception of self consciousness. We faced some difficulties in his room as it is relatively small and there wasn’t much natural light in the right places. However after moving a few things around in his room we managed to sit him to the side of a window, and decorated his window ledge with some of his favourite belongings (dinosaurs!)

Through researching documentary making techniques I found that it is best to get more footage than you need and so I rolled the camera before and after the interview and captured some really natural moments, especially when he insisted on including his pet guinea pigs. Even when I told him the interview was over he continued to tell me the dramatic tale of when his pet chickens got eaten by a fox, this is something I may use in my final edit as it could relate to the question ‘what’s the most frightening thing that you’ve ever seen/done?’ I made the decision to interview him in two different locations (in his room and on the downstairs couch). This would allow the interview to sustain visually interesting elements through a change of setting and mise en scène.

After this I also captured atmospheric shots, around the house and in the garden, with the shallow depth of field effect that will run throughout my film.

Production Stills: Day 2

Dan Still

Toy Still

Guinea Still

Dan Still2

Daisy Still

BluebellStill2

Leave a comment